

Council (Extraordinary)

Minutes

17 May 2022

Present:	Councillor Ghazanfar Ali	(The Worshipful the Mayor)
	Councillor Sasi Suresh	(The Deputy Mayor)
Councillors:	Dan Anderson David Ashton Marilyn Ashton Peymana Assad Christopher Baxter June Baxter Philip Benjamin Govind Bharadia Nicola Blackman Simon Brown Ramji Chauhan Shahania Choudhury Salim Chowdhury Kandy Dolor Dean Gilligan Matthew Goodwin-Freeman Stephen Greek Chetna Halai Susan Hall Graham Henson Maxine Henson Stephen Hickman Nitesh Hirani Asif Hussain Thaya Idaikkadar Ameet Jogia	Rashmi Kalu Hitesh Karia Eden Kulig Kuha Kumaran Jean Lammiman Jerry Miles Vipin Mithani Amir Moshenson Janet Mote Mr Phillip O'Dell Paul Osborn Mina Parmar Varsha Parmar Anjana Patel Pritesh Patel David Perry Natasha Proctor Kanti Rabadia Aneka Shah-Levy Rekha Shah Norman Stevenson Samir Sumaria Krishna Suresh Yogesh Teli Zak Wagman Antonio Weiss
Apologies received:	Councillor Nitin Parekh	

PRAYERS

The meeting opened with Prayers offered by Imam Professor Hafiz Muhammad Akram, Harrow Central Mosque.

270. Minute Silence

Members of Council stood and observed a minute silence for the late Honorary Freeman Keith Toms.

Members paid tribute to the late Honorary Freeman Keith Toms.

271. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

272. Appointment of Leader of the Council

RESOLVED: That

- (1) Councillor Paul Osborn be elected as Leader of the Council of the London Borough of Harrow for four years;
- (2) the Councillors appointed to Cabinet with the identified portfolios and the Voluntary Sector Representative, as tabled and set out below, be noted:

Leader of the Council and Portfolio Holder for Strategy	Councillor Paul Osborn
Deputy Leader of the Council and Portfolio Holder for Planning & Regeneration	Councillor Marilyn Ashton
Portfolio Holder for Finance & Human Resources	Councillor David Ashton
Portfolio Holder for Performance, Communications & Customer Experience	Councillor Stephen Greek
Portfolio Holder for Children's Services	Councillor Hitesh Karia
Portfolio Holder for Community & Culture	Councillor Jean Lammiman
Portfolio Holder for Housing	Councillor Mina Parmar
Portfolio Holder for Environment & Community Safety	Councillor Anjana Patel

Portfolio Holder for Adult Services & Public Health	Councillor Pritesh Patel
Portfolio Holder for Business, Employment & Property	Councillor Norman Stevenson
Non- Executive Member	Councillor Thaya Idaikkadar
Non-Executive Member	Councillor Ameet Jogia
Non-Executive Member	Councillor Kanti Rabadia
Voluntary Sector Representative	John Higgins

273. Notification of Deputy Leader of the Council

RESOLVED: To note that Councillor Marilyn Ashton had been appointed as Deputy Leader of the Council of the London Borough of Harrow by the Leader of the Council.

274. Appointment of the Chief Executive (Head of Paid Service)

Further to the notification of Cabinet, the Mayor received confirmation that there were no well-founded objections from any member of the Executive to the appointment, and it was

RESOLVED (unanimously): That Mr Patrick Flaherty, Chief Executive of Somerset County Council, be appointed to the post of Chief Executive (Head of Paid Service) of the London Borough of Harrow, in accordance with the terms and conditions governing Chief Officer posts.

275. Appointment of Interim Chief Executive (Head of Paid Service)

Further to the notification of Cabinet, the Mayor received confirmation that there were no well-founded objections from any member of the Executive to the appointment, and it was

RESOLVED (unanimously): That

- (1) Mr Paul Hewitt, Corporate Director People, Harrow Council be appointed on an interim basis to the post of Chief Executive (Head of Paid Service) of the London Borough of Harrow, with effect from 1 June 2022 in accordance with the terms and conditions governing Chief Officer posts;
- (2) the interim appointment set out in (1) above continue until Mr Patrick Flaherty commenced employment with the Council, whereupon Mr Hewitt would revert to his substantive post.

(**Close of Meeting:** All business having been completed, the Mayor declared the meeting closed at 7.25 pm).